

ATHLETIC NEWSLETTER

All you need to know about North Broward Prep Athletics!









2019 NBPSPY'S Celebrating the Best in NBPS Sports

The 5th Annual NBPSPY's was an overall success! With a record breaking 525 friends, families, coaches, administrators, NB alum and our NB Student-Athletes in attendance on Monday, May 13th at the Heron Bay Marriott we celebrated "The Best in NBPS Sports!"

The NB-ABC along with the NBP Athletic Department would like to thank everyone who joined us in celebrating our wonderful student-athletes and what they have accomplished. We truly appreciate all of the support you have given us throughout the year!

The NBPSPY's allowed us to recognize all of our High School Athletic Teams along with many of our individual student-athletes. Special congratulations to our *Varsity Ice Hockey Team* and *Girls Varsity Soccer Team* for taking home the title of Male & Female "Team of the Year" as well as *Matthew Corlew* and *Madi Wilson* who took home the hardware for Male & Female "Athlete of the Year."

A huge thank you goes out to our team Doctor, Dr. Al DeSimone and his Charity for Champions Organization. Dr. D was in attendance to help us present 8 of our outstanding senior student-athletes with "Charity for Champions" Scholarship awards totaling in \$7,000. Congratulations to *Ethan DiEgidio, Madi Wilson, Morgan Newman, Zach Newman, Jasen Vest, Nate Mann, Stacey Gringauz, & Sydney Austin.*

As you can see our 5th Annual NBPSPY's event made for an amazing night of celebration and fun we cannot wait to see what all of our NB student-athletes have in store for us in the future! Below is a full list of all the Special Awards won at this year's event.









TEAM AWARD WINNERS:

Boys Cross Country – Male Highest Team GPA (3.744) Girls Basketball – Female Highest Team GPA (3.747) Ice Hockey – Male Team of the Year Girls Soccer – Female Team of the Year

INDIVIDUAL AWARD WINNERS:

Matthew Corlew - Male Athlete of the Year

Madi Wilson – Female Athlete of the Year

Ethan DiEgidio – Charity for Champions Scholarship (Athletic Achievement)

Madi Wilson – Charity for Champions Scholarship (Academic Achievement)

Morgan Newman – Charity for Champions Scholarship (Personal Achievement)

Zach Newman – Charity for Champions Scholarship (Personal Achievement)

Jasen Vest – Charity for Champions Scholarship (Team Fellowship)

Nate Mann – Charity for Champions Scholarship (Artistic Achievement)

Stacey Gringauz – Charity for Champions Scholarship (Extraordinary Community Service)

Sydney Austin – Charity for Champions (Goodwill Scholarship)

Jenna Burns & Ben Altschuler – Elise Ecoff Impact Award

Sydney Austin – Ironwoman Award

O'Khari Hughes – Ironman Award

Matthew Corlew – Play of the Year

Alex Kanto – Residential Male Athlete of the Year

Ziging Li – Residential Female Athlete of the Year

Morgan Newman & Parker Bloder – Athletic Director Awards

William Miquel & Jessica Cole – Sportsmanship Award

Sabrina Basso & Justin Abson – Newcomer of the Year Award

Eagle Award (Leadership)

Christian Vinasco - Male Performance of the Year

Julia Swill & Rachel Weiner - Female Performance of the Year

Ally Mershon & Tyler Struve – Iron Eagle (Strength & Conditioning Award)

Natalie Zeigler & Jared London – Service Award